Alton Brown is Coming to Town!

by

Hubby earned big points today when he sent me this link to Gizmodo.  Wilson Rothman reported that Alton Brown is coming to Seattle October 16th for his Good Eats:  The Early Years book tour.  I can’t wait!  What is it about Alton Brown that I love so much?  Let me enumerate it for you:

  1. Every recipe I’ve made of his has been genius:  Red Snapper en Papillote, biscuits, cookies, eggs and on and on and on…  They are easy to read, detailed, well-researched and full of heart.  ❤
  2. He speaks to me. Okay, I’m not hearing voices, but I’m a math/science geek and he tells me everything I need to know about the how and why of the science behind cooking in words I can relate to.
  3. He knows his stuff.  From cleaning mushroom to cleaning the kitchen, Alton Brown doesn’t just repeat what is generally accepted to be true.  He does his own research and reports to the viewers.
  4. He has a quirky and fun TV personality that always makes me smile.  (I like cheese.)
  5. He is a savvy business man and is so hot when he’s serious and laying into noobs on The Next Food Network Star.

Rothman also has a fun interview:  Alton Brown: Kitchen Gadget Judgment Calls – Yea or Nay?

Here’s the list of of book tour dates from Alton Brown’s official site:

Good Eats: The Early Years Book Tour

Friday, October 9
NYC
Barnes & Noble – Union Square
7PM
Saturday, October 10
NYC
Food & Wine Festival
12:30PM
Sunday, October 11
NYC
Food & Wine Festival
12PM
Tuesday, October 13
Boston
Brookline Booksmith at Coolidge Corner Theatre
6PM
Wednesday, October 14
Arlington VA
Sur La Table – Pentagon Row
12PM
Wednesday, October 14
Washington DC
Smithsonian (not sure which, check altonbrown.com later for verification)
5PM
Thursday, October 15
Chicago
Borders – N. Michigan Ave
7PM
Friday, October 16
Seattle
Third Place Books – Lake Forest Park, WA
7PM
Saturday, October 17
San Diego
Costco – Fenton Pkwy
1PM
Sunday, October 18
Austin
Location TBD
12PM
Saturday, December 5
Norcross GA
“Lunchtime”
BJ’s Wholesale Club – Norcross

I hope to see some of you at the Seattle signing.  Leave me a comment if you’re planning to go.  Maybe we can do a foodie meet up.

********************************************************

Support Building Blocks Show and purchase an Alton Brown book from our Amazon store:

The latest:
Good Eats: The Early Years

My favorite:

I’m Just Here for More Food: Food x Mixing + Heat = Baking

Other greats:

I’m Just Here for the Food: Version 2.0

Alton Brown’s Gear For Your Kitchen

I’m Just Here for the Food: Kitchen User’s Manual

I’m Just Here for the Food: Cook’s Notes

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

