A Second Installment of Orcas Cuisine: The Inn at Ship Bay

by

The second place that my husband and I go every year on Orcas Island – and our hands down favorite – is the Inn at Ship Bay.  As you can see by the photos below, the food is amazing, but what we love is the staff.  The servers are all experienced and know every detail of the food off the top of their heads.

We sat outside with a gorgeous view of East Sound.  My husband thought the meal was absolutely perfect.  He ordered a steak (just like he does at every restaurant).  I thought it was almost perfect…

Salad of Duck Confit, Roast Sweet Onion, Local, Greens, Shaved Reggiano, Peach Vinaigrette and Toasted Almonds

The greens, vinaigrette and toasted almond blended so well in this salad.  I’m not an expert on duck confit, but the texture and taste didn’t seem different from roast duck.

Yes, I am a duck-oholic and ordered duck for my main as well:

Seared and Roasted Duck Breast, Yukon Potatoes, Seasonal Vegetables and Local Shiro Plums

I ordered the breast medium-well was worried it would come out over cooked, but I it was cooked exactly and was crispy on the outside and juicy inside.  The veggies, especially the beets, were all delicious.  It was missing a little something and I quickly figured out it was the black cherries on my husband’s steak and stole them – every last one!

And I never go without dessert…

Lemon Baked Alaska

Hands down the prettiest dessert I’ve had in a long time.  I just wish the meringue was crunchier.  I haven’t made Baked Alaska before, but I imagine that is not an easy task in an ice cream dessert.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

