Jordan's Potato Salad

by

potato salad

One of the reasons I love visiting Australia is the skillfully prepared classic and fusion foods.  I don’t think they’re ever overly complex, just fresh ingredients cooked well.  This potato salad is a perfect example. 

One evening we were BBQ-ing with our friends and Jordan made this potato salad with crispy and sweetly spicy red onions and bite-sized red potatoes.  I am not a huge fan of mayonnaise, so I was very surprised I liked it so much.  When I asked him what was in it, he said potatoes, red onions and mayo, but that the trick was to buy “whole egg” mayo.  I’d never heard of that.  Apparently, it’s made by S&W, but not easy to find in the states.  I brought a jar back with me, but now that it’s gone, I make my own.  I’ll share the mayo recipes with you all once I have them fool-proofed.  In the meantime, buy or make your favorite mayo (blender mayonnaise recipes usually use whole eggs) and try out this delicious recipe from down under.

Jordan’s Potato Salad

You will need:

  •  2 lbs red potatoes
  • 3/4 cup whole egg mayonnaise
  • 1/2 a red onion, quartered and sliced thinly
  • salt
  • fresh ground pepper
  • paprika (optional)

Put it together:

  • Salt water and place potatoes in cold water
  • Turn the heat on to high and bring water and potatoes to a boil
  • Turn heat down and simmer until fork tender, 20 to 25 minutes
  • Drain potatoes, cut into bite-size pieces and add rest of the ingredients while still warm
  • Toss and season with salt, fresh ground pepper and, if desired, paprika
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

