European Musings

by

I just returned on Thursday from twelve days of sightseeing, wedding celebration and delicious eating in Europe.  I’m just starting to be recovered enough to have a few minutes to blog and now I’m leaving tomorrow morning for BlogHer in Chicago!    I have so many pictures to share from France, Germany and Switzerland, but they will have to wait until after I return.  I kept a detailed food log, so I won’t forget anything.  This experience will definitely influence my cooking.  Here are a few thoughts on my European cuisine experience:

Paris was our first stop and what a busy way to begin our trip!  Here I had the best vegetables and morels I’ve ever had (La Terrassee, Westin Hotel) and tasted many things I’d never tried before: canelé (a SW French pastry), tarte tatin (upside-down apple tart), mâche (a tender lettuce).  I even had a dinner of 3-courses of souffles!

Next we took the train to Southern Germany for a relaxing time celebrating the wedding of our friends.  I was happily surprised to find the food in Germany even better than in France (Don’t tell the French I said that!).  The best dish I had the entire trip was at the reception.  It was a vegetarian lasagna with just a perfect mix of roasted bell peppers, carrot planks, zucchini and creamy cheeses.  There were over 20 wedding cakes – each one more beautiful and delicious than the next and most baked by the mother of the groom!  I have tons of pictures of these to share.

The last leg of our journey was a quick stop in Zurich, Switzerland before heading back to Paris to fly home.  Here I had my first taste of European pork Cordon Bleu.  There are cafés on every corner to sip tea and people watch.  I only wish I’d had more time to sample Swiss chocolates!        

For those of you that know me, you’ll know that all this cheese and cream does not do good things for my sinuses and I’m still getting migraines every single day even though I haven’t had a lick of dairy since I returned, but was it worth it?  I have to admit, yes, I’d do it again.  To me, experiencing the culture of a place is so closely tied with the food.  How can you go to France and not have crêpes outside the corner café?  How can you go to Switzerland and not have chocolate?  It’s just the price I have to pay.  And I do it with a smile on my face.  : )

2 Responses to “European Musings”

  1. Krista Says:

    Great meeting you and Roger at the BlogHer food bloggers’ dinner! Hey, you didn’t tell me you had just been on a whirlwind trip of Europe! I was in Zurich the last weekend in June. It was really lovely.

    If you make it to London at some point, please let me know! Kisses for Roger-Krista

  2. kim Says:

    Hi Krista,

    Great meeting you too! I was super-impressed with your “name-that-food-ability.” Tarmasalata is my new favorite word!

    Kisses delivered!

Leave a Reply

