Sunshine Lemon Cake

by

Sunshine Cake 1

Sunshine Cake 2

Here is a sunny dairy-free cake I made for my friend’s birthday.  I used Bob’s Red Mill lemon poppy seed cake mix, the icing recipe from the back of the packet, and garnished with fresh lemon slices in the shape of a sunshine.  It’s a whole-grain mix, but still lighter in texture than most from-scratch recipes.  Here’s the lemon glaze recipe (I subbed Earth Balance DF Margarine for the butter):

“Whisk together 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 3 Tbsp. melted butter, and 3 Tbsp. lemon juice.  Pour glaze over cake immediately.”

What’s the filling?  Ha, ha.  Well, I thought I could use a vanilla pudding mix with rice milk and just add some lemon juice and zest.  I use rice milk with this brand (Dr. Oetker’s) of chocolate pudding all the time and it comes out fine, but the vanilla pudding wouldn’t set.  Not having enough time to run to the store for ingredients for another filling, I just added gelatin.  It worked  out okay – although I wouldn’t do it again – and made for a very jiggly cake!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

