Recipe Report: Itailian Sausage Soup

by

In this installment of Recipe Report, I’m reviewing Itailian Sausage Soup from the website allrecipes.com. 

Everyone likes a nice, hearty soup during winter, right? This Italian Sausage Soup really hits the spot and is quick and flexible. My family likes this soup with some bread for an easy, complete meal. Every time I make this soup, I change it up a little depending on what I have on hand (different veggies, beans, or adding pasta). The comments to the recipe suggested the following modifications, which I follow as well:

  • use hot Italian sausage if you want more spice
  • use 2 cloves of garlic
  • use 3 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • add 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth in addition to the beef broth
  • add 1 cubed potato
  • add 1 chopped onion
  • use frozen chopped spinach if you don’t have fresh spinach

I usually don’t add any salt because I think there’s plenty of salt in the broth. I’ve made this soup with Kim’s beef stock or with store-bought beef broth. I’ve never had a lot of luck with store-bought beef broth. However, Cook’s Illustrated has recommended the Pacific brand of beef broth and I’ve been pleased with it too. It’s really convenient if you don’t have any homemade beef stock on hand.

Let me know what you think about this recipe. Next time I make it, I’d like to experiment with using the crockpot. Maybe I’ll make extra to freeze and see how it tastes from frozen.

One Response to “Recipe Report: Itailian Sausage Soup”

  1. kim Says:

    I love this soup, but more importantly, so do the kids. When Malissa brought it to me after I delivered my son last year, I remember her little girl asking if they could stay for the “yummy food.” It was so cute.

    I bet it will be good after freezing.

Leave a Reply

