Petit Fours for Christmas

by

These are the petit fours I made to take to Christmas dinner at my parents’ places. What I thought was really nice about them was the fillings. I made a cashew filling for the chocolate cakes by soaking a cup of the cashews in water overnight, then draining them, adding 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and mixing in the food processor. I did a similar thing with the almond filling for the lemon poppy seed cakes, but with more sugar proportionally and using a mix of powdered and white granulated sugars. I think I added vanilla flavor as well. The leftover almond filling was fantastic in croissants the next morning.

I used Bob’s Red Mill cake mixes for both. The nice thing about Bob’s mixes are that they’re mostly whole grain and still quite tasty. I don’t think anyone noticed a difference once they were filled with nut spreads and covered in icing. The toppings were a really nice lemon glaze and a chocolate icing. I got the lemon glaze recipe off the back of the cake mix package. The chocolate icing was great. Here’s how I made it:

Melt 2 T earth balance butter and 2 T semi-sweet chocolate pieces together.
Add powdered sugar and rice milk until you reach the desired consistency and sweetness.
I think I used about a cup of sugar and a quarter cup of milk.

The peppermint petit fours were frosted with a Wilton recipe royal icing and then dipped in crushed candy canes.

Lemmon Poppy Seed Petit Fours Top

Lemmon Poppy Seed Petit Fours Top Close

Peppermint and Chocolate Petit Fours Front

Peppermint and Chocolate Petit Fours Top

4 Responses to “Petit Fours for Christmas”

  1. Gonzalo Estevez Says:

    Hello webmaster. I am going to check it, since I saw a comment in another site regarding \”Petit Fours for Christmas\”. Someone related to christmas candy recipe. Thanks anyway.

  2. Peter Grievik Says:

    Hi there. This is all about taste. I completely agree with you regarding \”Petit Fours for Christmas\”, but I think you are in the thin line of thinling. Don\’t you? Maybe you can try white chocolate icing recipe

  3. Enrique Ibanez Says:

    Hey!. When it all come to opinions, everyone has its own; specially regarding \”Petit Fours for Christmas\”. Have you seen a good christmas chocolate cake?

  4. Julian Melkiezevech Says:

    Hi. Not totally agree with you, but you just gave me an idea for a new eBook regarding “Petit Fours for Christmas”. It is related to christmas chocolate log. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

