Hello Kitty Cake

by

This Hello Kitty cake was for my niece’s 7th birthday. I was so excited when I heard she wanted a Hello Kitty theme, because I thought it would be super fun to do and it was!

To make the cake I followed instructions and used a template from DLTK’s craft page. The template basically just gave me a guideline for cutting the oval for the head and triangle ears. On top of the chocolate cake that I cut out, I spread chocolate frosting. Then I used Wilton fondant to cover the frosting. I’ve actually been wanting to try a recipe from one of my cake decorating books for the fondant, because the Wilton one doesn’t taste good, but the home-made version isn’t pure white, which was important for the kitty. Decorating the fondant was the fun part. I used sour candy ribbon for the bow, jelly bean eyes and licorice whiskers. Fun, fun, fun! I attached the candies with royal icing (A.K.A. Baker’s glue). I highly recommend this cake for a first sculpted and fondant cake. It was my first and it was so quick and easy to put together. Thanks so much to DLTK for the ideas!!

(A note about the photo: The shot is skewed a bit. The eyes and nose were actually further down than they look in this picture, which is accurate for Hello Kitty.)

Hello Kitty Cake

3 Responses to “Hello Kitty Cake”

  1. Stephy Garmola Says:

    Hello. This is all about taste. I completely agree with you regarding \”Hello Kitty Cake\”, but I think you are in the thin line of thinling. Don\’t you? Maybe you can try pure fun candy

  2. Create A Cake Says:

    That’s such a simple but quite accurate Hello Kitty. I love it. Great work!

  3. Julian Melkiezevech Says:

    Hey!. I am going to check it, since I saw a comment in another site regarding “Hello Kitty Cake”. Someone related to recipe how to make sour candy. Thanks anyway.

Leave a Reply

