Giant Cupcake

by

Cupcake

Here is the giant cupcake I made for Anna’s 1st birthday last week. The mold was a cake pan Anna’s mom, Malissa, found online. It was two pieces – one for the top, one for the bottom and served about 12 people. It was a really fun one to decorate. I made a filling from raspberries and cream. To do this, I made a coulis, added a handful of berries, whipping cream and a partial packet of geletin and cooked for a few minutes. Then I chilled it for an hour, whipped it up, and put it in the cake. I added too much gelatin, but other than that it was excellent.

You can buy the cupcake pan at Target or Sur la Table. Click the Sur la Table link for pics of professionally decorated giant cupcakes. I wish I’d seen those before I made mine.

Update April 4, 2009:  You can also buy this pan at Amazon: http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=my-builblocshow-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=B000UPRAXA&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Leave a Reply

