Chocolate Log Cake with Fantastic Chocolate Filling

by

This is a cake I made the other night to take to a friend’s house for dinner. It was super simple and super quick. My husband didn’t think I’d even get it done in time, but because it is baked thin on a jelly roll pan it cooks fast and cools just as quickly. It helped that I had a fantastic box mix on hand – Dr. Oetker Organics. (I’m still looking for a light, fluffy recipe for making chocolate cake from scratch! Please let me know if you have one!)

After the cake cooled, I spread chocolate frosting across the entire top, sprinkled chocolate pieces on, and rolled it up using the parchment paper I lined the pan with before cooking. What you see in the picture is only about half of the cake. I cut off each side at an angle to make a nice log shape. I then poured chocolate icing on the top (using the recipe I used for the petit fours, below), sprinkled with cocoa and decorated with chocolate pieces. This was really the best tasting chocolate cake I have had in a very long time.

Here’s the frosting recipe that I filled the cake with. It’s from the back of a Bob’s Red Mill cake mix package:

– 4 oz unsweetened baking chocolate

– 3 cups powdered sugar

– 1/2 cup earth balance butter

– 2 tsp vanilla extract

– 1/3 cup rice milk
Microwave chocolate in small microwavable bowl until melted. Cool 10 minutes. Beat powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and milk in a large bowl with electric mixer until smooth. Gradually beat in melted chocolate until well blended. Immediately frost cake. Frosting will begin to set up after about 15 minutes.

Chocolate Log Cake Top

Chocolate Log Cake Front

Leave a Reply

